If you’re new to the work of emotional intelligence (EI) or if you’re in need of a refresher, this article will define emotional intelligence and break down the four domains and twelve competencies that make up Daniel Goleman’s framework.



There are four domains and 12 competencies in Daniel Goleman’s model of EI

The four domains are:


Under the four domains mentioned above, there are 12 competencies:

  1. Emotional Self-Awareness
  2. Emotional Self-Control
  3. Adaptability
  4. Achievement Orientation
  5. Positive Outlook
  6. Empathy
  7. Organizational Awareness
  8. Influence
  9. Coach and Mentor
  10. Conflict Management
  11. Teamwork
  12. Inspirational Leadership




What is a Competence?

A competence is a skill needed to perform a role, or task. There are two types of competency: Threshold Competencies and Distinguishing Competencies.

Threshold Competencies are the minimum one needs to handle the cognitive complexity of a given task. Distinguishing Competencies are those traits found the the highest performers that set them above the average. Daniel Goleman and Richard Boyatzis analyzed the internal competency models of dozens of organizations to identify Distinguishing Competencies common to all, and built their model of Emotional Intelligence from that data.


The 12 Emotional Intelligence Competencies Defined

What is Emotional Self-Awareness? 


What is Emotional Self-Control?


What is Positive Outlook?


What is Achievement? 


What is Adaptability? 


What is Empathy? 


What is Organizational Awareness? 


What is Influence?


What is the Coach and Mentor Competency?


What is Inspirational Leadership? 


What is Teamwork? 


What is Conflict Management? 


If you are just beginning to explore emotional intelligence, our hope is that this article served as a valuable starting point.

Remember, emotional intelligence is learned and learnable. Happy learning!


Originally published on Key Step Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *